THE FOREIGNERS BY AMARA MAJEED

Amara Majeed is another awesome Muslim I want to write about, but I thought I would post about her successful her book first.

51qWrLMMamL

61a7rO0QnSL

A little bit about this wonderful young author (I don’t want to give everything away in this post! What would I write about later?!):

Amara Majeed is a 17-year-old and a rising senior in high school. She is the founder of The Hijab Project, a project that promotes the understanding of Muslim women through social experimentation. As part of her quest to empower Muslim women, she also teaches the English language to Muslim girls in Islamic countries in order to get them more involved in business and politics.


p

About the book:

“Veiled women who submissively follow their husbands’ orders and are forbidden to drive, men with dark skin and a herd of wives around them, people who speak in a harsh Arabic tongue discussing Shariah law: Muslims. There is one other thing that we as a society associate with the people of Islamic faith-it’s the thing that causes us to uneasily scrutinize the bearded man who walks through security at the airport as he collects his hand luggage from the conveyor belt and scrambles to slip on his shoes; he reaches into his pocket to take a look at his boarding pass and we catch a glimpse of it, hoping that he’s not boarding our flights, that he’s not going to be on- Terrorism. We associate Islam with terrorism. In this heart-wrenching, eye-opening piece of work, 17-year-old author Amara Majeed tells the real life stories of incredible Muslims from around the world. Woven beautifully into this compilation of short biographies are controversial topics that aren’t discussed openly in society. The spellbinding book is beautifully captivating with its painful yet exhilarating biographies, and it will surely offer readers a different perspective on Muslims during the post-9/11 era of Islamophobia.”

Just look at the reviews!

πŸ™‚

hj

The stories in this book are tragic, inspiring, and truly beautiful. There’s one story that’s not as tragic or inspirational in the book, and that would be mine. I haven’t had too many bad things happen to me in life, so my story is the type you would skip over because it’s so blahhh.

That said, when I was writing my piece that was to be included in the book, I was in Sri Lanka for a visit. This was last year, when the BBS (Bodu Bala Sena), a group of militant Buddhists were openly terrorizing the minority Muslims of Sri Lanka. In fact, they set fire to an entire town of Muslims, killing a few, and destroying the livelihood of the rest. It was a haunting reminder of the atrocities faced by the Rohingya Muslims of Burma. This obviously does not represent the majority of Buddhists of my home country. Most of them, nearly ALL of them, are lovely, easy-going people with beautiful character. So at least I was able to talk about this lesser known issue faced by Sri Lankan Muslims in the book. The rest of my piece is on how boring I am. Meh.

I got a chance to include my story in the book because my lovely friend Aniqah introduced me to Amara. (Thanks Aniqah! <3) Amara is truly an inspiring youngster. I wish I had half her drive to change people’s perceptions of Muslims. I will be writing about these fascinating girls (Aniqah and Amara) soon.

Stay tuned!

I know you want to read this book, so I’m going to do you a favour:

http://www.amazon.ca/The-Foreigners-Amara-Majeed/dp/0692260935

2 thoughts on “THE FOREIGNERS BY AMARA MAJEED

Leave a Reply

